Stuff I ate in SM Megamall

Because my friend Ahra and I won’t be able to catch the movie we wanted to see in Cinema ’76, we decided to veer off the tracks and instead, eat to our heart’s content at SM Megamall.

Akamaru Shinaji

Price: PHP 400 (+5% service charge)

Serving size: Good for 1

Ate it at: Ippudo, 3/F Mega Fashion Hall, SM Megamall, EDSA corner Julio Vargas Avenue, Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong

As I have shared in our Chibo Okonomiyaki experience, Ahra and I are big fans of Japanese cuisine. So what better way to eat our feelings than to have a comforting bowl of ramen. 🍜

It was a good thing that we got our seats right away, because we arrived for dinner quite early, at around 5:30pm. Even if it’s already been two years since it opened, Ippudo still has a long waiting line of customers during peak dining hours.

When I first had their bowl of Shiromaru Motoaji in the Robinsons Manila branch, I never looked back. The rich and creamy but well-balanced broth blew me away! It was love at first slurp. I wanted to share that same experience with Ahra, so I told her to order this basic ramen.

Shiromaru Motoaji: the basic, yet perfect bowl of ramen

And after a few scoops of soup, a few slurps of noodles, and a few exchanges of stories, she wiped the bowl clean… Almost, if she liked spring onion. 😋

*burp*

Then there’s my bowl. My empty, bright red bowl, as if nothing happened in the first place. 😂

*buuuuuuurp*

I ordered the Akamaru Shinaji, which is basically the spicier, more garlicky version of the Shiromaru. It has that same lovely, milky broth, so I was able to finish all of it despite the heat! I was tired and hungry from the traffic, so please #dontjudgeme!

Akamaru Shinaji: the spicy one

In case you chance upon the long lines of Ippudo, be patient. Because it is definitely worth the wait. 🕒

Mixed Churros (Clasicos + Matcha) and Chocolate Dip

Price: PHP 250 (PHP 190 Mixed Churros + PHP 60 Chocolate Dip)

Serving size: Good for 2

Ate it at: Churreria La Lola, 2/F Mega Atrium, SM Megamall

Our taste buds needed a sweet break, so Ahra and I headed downstairs to La Lola.

It wasn’t our first time at La Lola, but we haven’t tried their coated churros yet. Since the coated churros are quite pricey on their own, we opted for a medium order of Mixed Churros, which had three pieces of La Lola’s classic churros and three coated ones. To complete our Japanese-flavored evening chow, we chose the Matcha churros.

Clasicos and Matcha Churros with Chocolate Dip

When I first bit into the Matcha churros, I fell in love with its slightly sweet, and earthy flavor. But when I dipped it in the dark chocolate sauce, I was over the moon! It’s like chocolate and matcha were destined to be together, like in Mad Mark’s Matchawaited Ice Cream!

Next time, I would like to try their other coated churros, and some of their stuffed ones called Xuxo.

*Disclaimer: I paid for my own food, and this was written with my honest opinion. If I don’t like the food, I won’t write it here. 😊

Leave a Reply

